The Joan Swift Memorial Prize

About the Joan Swift Memorial Prize

The prize honors the legacy of Joan Swift, who was among the first poets published in Poetry Northwest (in the fall issue of 1959). Her poems appeared most recently in our Summer Issue 2016. She had a long and notable career as a writer, drawing extensively from her life and experiences in the Pacific Northwest. She died on March 13, 2017, in Edmonds, Washington, at the age of 90.

The Joan Swift Memorial Prize is graciously co-sponsored in 2018 by Poetry Northwest, The Seattle Review of Books, Esther Altshul Helfgott, Tess Gallagher, Holly Hughes and John Pierce.


Submission Guidelines

Deadline: The contest is not currently open for submissions.

Submit 4 – 6 poems to Poetry Northwest. Previously unpublished poems only. Simultaneous submission is fine, but please notify us immediately if your poems are accepted elsewhere. Include a cover letter indicating your current residence and year of birth. Use the submission button below (via Submittable).

For this contest only, we will also accept submissions via US Postal Service. You may mail your poems, along with a standard SASE, directly to:

Poetry Northwest
Joan Swift Memorial Prize
2000 Tower Street
Everett, WA 98201

Poems cannot be returned except by SASE. Please send copies only.

photo by Mary Randlett

For contest purposes, we will consider poets living in the following states and provinces: Washington, Oregon, Idaho, northern California, western Montana, British Columbia, and Alaska. There is no fee to submit. Please enter only one time, sending your best poems. Kevin Craft will judge.